UN-NGO United Nations

Latest news

Upgrade of the Lazarus Union to the «General Consultative Status»

UN-Reclassification of the Lazarus Union carton color 900

 

Thanks to his tireless support for the good of the International Lazarus Union our former General Plenipotentiary and Special Ambassador with the United Nations, Prof. Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt, has managed that the United Nations now granted the General Consultative Status to our Lazarus Union. This is a big honour for the Lazarus Union and for those who were involved in the efforts concerning the international appreciation of the Union – especially our General Secretary and Deputy General Plenipotentiary Oliver Gruber-Lavin.

Hardly anyone would have believed in 2006, when our former General Plenipotentiary founded the Lazarus Union after five years abroad, what a success his foundation would be.

Over time, this foundation became an organisation with more than 22.000 members in more than 120 countries around the world.

A first major success was reached in 2014 when the United Nations granted the „Special Consultative Status“ to the International Lazarus Union.

The International Lazarus Union never intended to rest on this laurels. The leadership of the Lazarus Union was constantly endeavoured that its humanitarian support would be appreciated at home and abroad.

That this was indeed the case can be seen from the fact that the Lazarus Union was even nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 2017.

Even if the current success, the granting of the “General Consultative Status”, no longer falls within the term of the office of the former General Plenipotentiary, we must never forget that it was HE who ensured that the Union has now achieved this Consultative status.

For this, he and all those who have contributed to this deserve a great deal of thanks from all the members of the Union.

At the same time, however, we are also pleased with all our critics, who have recently wanted to “sideline” us and have restricted or ended social contact with the Lazarus Union.

To all these critics, we would like to consider whether the United Nations really would have granted our Union this honorable status (there are only 137 organisations with this status in the world), even if there was only a little truth in the accusations that were being made recently – either through one-sided press coverage or through unspoken suspicions by other institutions.

The honor now granted by the United Nations shows that that we, as a Union, have never had anything to reproach for and this will be also the case in the future.

I would therefore like to appeal to all our relatives who have been sceptical about the various allegations so far:

“Do not listen to the baseless accusations and work with us for the good of humanity in accordance with our slogan

„VIRIBUS UNITIS“

 Professor Dr.Dr.h.c. (UA) Lothar Gellert
General Plenipotentiary of the Lazarus Union

 

More about the
CONSULTATIVE STATUS of the UNITED NATIONS
(Source: Wikipedia)

Consultative Status to the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is the highest status granted by the United Nations to non-governmental organizations (NGO’s), thereby allowing them to participate in the work of the United Nations. Consultative Status is divided into three categories:

  • General Consultative Status (formerly Consultative Status 1), the highest level, which may be granted to organizations that are concerned with most of the activities of the Council, that are making substantive and sustained contributions in many fields, with a considerable membership, and that are broadly representative of major segments of society in a large number of countries. These organizations are entitled to deliver oral presentations during the Council’s meetings.
  • Special Consultative Status (formerly Consultative Status 2), which may be granted to organizations concerned with only a few of the fields of activity covered by the Council.
  • Roster, which are “other organizations that do not have general or special consultative status but that the Council, or the Secretary-General of the United Nations in consultation with the Council or its Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations, considers can make occasional and useful contributions to the work of the Council.”

Twice a year, the United Nations Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations reviews new applications for consultative status and makes recommendations to the ECOSOC, which reviews and decides to approve or deny the recommendations. Almost always, these recommendations are approved. Consultative Status, depending on level, gives the organizations a number of rights to participate in the work of the UN, to present their views and deliver testimony.

The first time that non-governmental organizations were granted consultative status was in 1946, when 41 organizations were chosen. By 1996, over 1000 NGO’s were granted consultative status, and by the year 2000, there were 2050.

More than 320.000 NGO´s are listed but do not have any official status.

As of July 2018, there are a total of 5,081 organizations in consultative status with ECOSOC. There are 134 organizations in general consultative status, 3,974 in special consultative status and 973 on the Roster

The UN also maintains a database through which the current set of organizations in consultative status can be accessed. A list of all of the organizations, in pdf format, is also available.

 

UN-NGO-Logo

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT

The LAZARUS UNION as a registered and accredited NGO (Non Governmental Organization, Reg.no. (=Profile Code) 632158) is proud to now announce officially that the LAZARUS UNION has been awarded “SPECIAL CONSULTATIVE STATUS” with the United Nations ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council). A big honour and distinction for the LAZARUS UNION but also for all the members who have made this success possible. We celebrate this granting with a new project.

Download (PDF, 7.98MB)

The Board of the LAZARUS UNION

LINK to the homepage of the United Nations

Who and what we are now, what our rights and duties are now, what we are now allowed to do or not to do, you can read HERE. All members of the LAZARUS UNION have to follow these rules very striktly!

UN-NGO Vereinte Nationen

Brandaktuelle Neuigkeiten

Aufwertung der Internationalen Lazarus Union in den «General Consultative Status»

UN-Reclassification of the Lazarus Union carton color 900

 

Dank seines unermüdlichen Einsatzes zum Wohle der Internationalen Lazarus Union ist es unserem bisherigen Generalbevollmächtigen und Sonderbotschafter bei den Vereinten Nationen, Prof. Senator h.c. Wolfgang Steinhardt gelungen, dass die Vereinten Nationen unserer Lazarus Union nunmehr den Status eines „General Consultant“ verliehen haben. Dies stellt für die Lazarus Union und alle, die in den Bemühungen auf internationale Anerkennung der Union beteiligt gewesen sind, vor allem auch unser Generalsekretär und stellv. Generalbevollmächtigter Oliver Gruber-Lavin, eine große Ehre dar.

Wohl kaum jemand hätte im Jahre 2006, als unser bisheriger Generalbevollmächtigter nach fünfjähriger Aufenthaltsdauer im Ausland die Lazarus Union gründete, geglaubt, welchen Erfolg seine Gründung haben würde.

Aus dieser Gründung wurde im Laufe der Zeit eine Organisation mit mehr als 22000 Mitgliedern in über 120 Ländern der Welt.

Ein erster großer Meilenstein wurde im Jahr 2014 erreicht, als die Vereinten Nationen der Internationalen Lazarus Union den Status eines „Sonderberaters“ zuerkannten.

Die Internationale Lazarus Union hat sich auf diesen Lorbeeren nie ausgeruht, sondern die Führung der Lazarus Union war stets bestrebt, dass ihre Hilfstätigkeit im In- und Ausland anerkannt und wertgeschätzt würde.

Dass dies in der Tat der Fall war, kann darin abgelesen werden, dass die Lazarus Union im Jahr 2017 sogar für den Friedensnobelpreis nominiert wurde.

Auch wenn der jetzige Erfolg, die Zuerkennung des “General Beraterstatus” nicht mehr in die Amtszeit des bisherigen Generalbevollmächtigten fällt, dürfen wir nie vergessen, dass ER es gewesen ist, der dafür gesorgt hat, dass die Union nun diesen Beraterstatus erreicht hat.

Dafür gebührt ihm und allen, die dazu beigetragen haben, ein großer Dank aller Angehörigen der Union.

Gleichzeitig ist es uns aber auch Genugtuung gegenüber all unseren Kritikern, die uns in der letzten Zeit „ins Abseits stellen“ wollten und den sozialen Kontakt mit der Lazarus Union eingeschränkt bzw. beendet haben.

All diesen Kritikern möchten wir zu bedenken geben, ob die Vereinten Nationen unserer Union wirklich diesen ehrenvollen Status zuerkannt hätten (es gibt weltweit nur 137 Organisationen mit diesem Status), wenn auch nur ein Fünkchen Wahrheit in den Vorwürfen liegen würde, die man gegenüber der Union in der letzten Zeit – sei es durch einseitige Berichterstattung in der Presse, sei es durch unausgesprochene Verdächtigungen durch andere Institutionen – erhoben hat.

Die jetzt von den Vereinten Nationen ausgesprochene Ehrung zeigt, dass wir uns als Union niemals etwas vorzuwerfen hatten und vorzuwerfen haben.

Ich möchte daher allen unseren Angehörigen, die bislang ob der verschiedenen Anschuldigungen skeptisch gewesen sind, zurufen:

„Hört nicht auf die haltlosen Anschuldigungen und seid mit uns zusammen tätig zum Wohle der Menschheit gemäß unserem Wahlspruch

„VIRIBUS UNITIS“

 Professor Dr.Dr.h.c. (UA) Lothar Gellert
Generalbevollmächtigter der Lazarus Union

 

Mehr über den
BERATERSTATUS BEI DEN VEREINTEN NATIONEN
(Quelle: Wikipedia)

Der Beraterstatus beim Rat für Wirtschaft und Soziales (ECOSOC) ist der höchste Status, den die UN an Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen vergibt und erlaubt diesen Organisationen, an der Arbeit der UN mitzuwirken. Der Beraterstatus ist in 3 Kategorien unterteilt:

  • General (allgemeiner) Beraterstatus (vormals Beraterstatus 1): Die höchste Stufe, die solchen Organisationen verliehen wird, die mit der Mehrzahl der Aktivitäten des Rates befasst sind, die substantielle und nachhaltige Unterstützung auf vielen Gebieten mit einer beachtlichen Mitgliedschaft leisten und die stark in den Hauptbereichen der Gesellschaft in vielen Ländern vertreten sind. Diese Organisationen sind berechtigt, sich während der Ratstreffen mündlich zu äußern.
  • Sonderberaterstatus (vormals Beraterstatus 2): Dieser Status wird Organisationen verliehen, die sich nur in wenigen Betätigungsfeldern des Rates engagieren.
  • Gelistet: Dies betrifft andere Organisationen, die keinen allgemeinen oder Sonderberaterstatus haben, aber bei denen der Rat oder der Generalsekretär der UN nach Abstimmung mit dem Rat oder seinem Komitee für Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen der Meinung ist, dass sie gelegentliche und nützliche Beiträge zur Arbeit des Rates liefern können.

Zweimal im Jahr prüft das UN-Komitee für Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen neue Anträge auf Beraterstatus und gibt Empfehlungen an den ECOSOC, der die Anträge prüft und Entscheidungen zur Genehmigung oder Ablehnung trifft. Fast immer werden diese Anträge genehmigt. Der Beraterstatus gibt den Organisationen je nach Stufe das Recht, an der Arbeit der UN mitzuwirken, ihre Ansichten darzulegen und Zeugnis abzulegen.

1946 wurden 41 Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen ausgesucht, die zum ersten Mal den Beraterstatus erhielten. 1996 hatten über 1.000 Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen den Beraterstatus und Ende 2000 waren es 2.050.

Mehr als 320.000 Nicht-Regierungsorganisationen sind gelistet, haben aber keinen offiziellen Status.

Ab Juli 2018 gibt es insgesamt 5.081 Organisationen mit Beraterstatus bei ECOSOC. Es gibt 134 Organisationen mit dem allgemeinen Beraterstatus, 3.974 mit dem Sonderberaterstatus und 973 sind registriert (Roster).

Die UN unterhält auch eine Datenbank, durch die Zugriff auf die gegenwärtigen Organisationen mit Beraterstatus möglich ist. Eine Liste aller Organisationen ist im pdf-Format ebenso verfügbar.

 
 UN-NGO-Logo

 

Die LAZARUS UNION  als registrierte und anerkannte NGO (Non Governmental Organization, Reg.no. (=Profile Code) 632158)  ist stolz darauf nunmehr offiziell verkünden zu können, dass der LAZARUS UNION der „SPECIAL CONSULTATIVE STATUS(=Sonderberaterstatus) bei der ECOSOC (Economic and Social Council) der Vereinten Nationen zuerkannt wurde. Eine hohe Ehre und Auszeichnung für die LAZARUS UNION selbst aber auch für alle Mitglieder, die diesen Erfolg möglich gemacht haben. Wir feiern das mit einem neuen Projekt.

Download (PDF, 7.85MB)

Das Präsidium der LAZARUS UNION

LINK zur Webseite der Vereinten Nationen

Wer und was wir jetzt sind, was unsere Rechte aber auch unsere Pflichten sind, was wir dürfen und was nicht ist HIER nachzulesen und von allen Mitgliedern der LAZARUS UNION strengstens zu beachten!