Annual Meeting with the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights

Logo LU CSLI Schweiz 200

Annual Meeting with the
UN  High Commissioner for Human Rights

05.03.2019, Palais des Nations, Room XIII, Geneva

 

Währen Frederic  A report by Frédéric Währen

The annual meeting with the High Commissioner of the United Nations, Mrs. Michelle Bachelet Jeria , took place on 3rd March 2019, at the headquarters of the United Nations in Geneva.

The event took place in a totally crowded hall. The conference hall is provided for 260 people but more than 300 people attended the event. After a short introducing lecture in which the High Commissioner enlarged upon the 40th Human Rights Conference currently taking place the emphasis was on answering the questions of the present NGO-delegates. Especially questions about the situation in Africa were discussed

 

UN-High Commission for Human Rights (UNHCHR) The High Commission for Human Rights (in French: Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies aux droits de l’homme) is the most important interface of protecting Human Rights within the United Nations. The official function of the High Commissioner for Human Rights was established by the UN-General Assembly according to the demand of the Vienna World Conference on Human Rights 1993. Since September 2018 Michelle Bachelet Jeria from Chile has been responsible for this task.

The tasks of a High Commissioner

The High Commissioner for Human Rights is the head of the UN-Human Rights Office in Geneva (which was combined with the former Geneva UN-Centre for Human Rights in 1997) and coordinates the tasks of the different UN-Human Rights Institutions. In addition she can act independently in order to eliminate obstacles for Human Rights. Furthermore she can play a consultative role for other institutions. She reports directly to the UN-Secretary General.

The main tasks of the OHCHR Legislation, monitoring and anchoring of Human Rights Standards at national level. The OHCHR cooperates with all relevant actors both inside and outside the UN. It especially supports the UN-Human Rights Council and is Special Correspondent at operational level.

For more information about UNHCHR/OHCHR see

https://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/HRC/Pages/Home.aspx#tabbedItem4

Participants CSLI Switzerland:

            – Captain CSLI, Chevalier Frédéric Ch. Währen (Head of Delegation)

            – Ensign CSLI, Dame Christine M. Währen (Assistance)

Basel, 17.03.2019

Captain CSLI Chev. Frédéric Ch. Währen

1116

1117

1118

1119

Groundpässe Frederic und Christine Währen Bild

Jahresbericht mit UN Hochkommisarin für Menschenrechte

Logo LU CSLI Schweiz 200

Jahresbericht  mit
UN Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte

05.03.2019, Palais des Nations, Room XIII, Genf

 

Währen Frederic   Ein Bericht von Frederic Währen

Das Jahresmeeting mit der UNO-Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte, Frau Michelle Bachelet Jeria , fand am 03. März 2019, in der UNO Genf statt.

Die Veranstaltung wurde in einem völlig überfüllten Saal abgehalten. Der Konferenzraum XXIII fasst 260 Personen, aber es waren mehr als 300 Teilnehmer/Innen/* anwesend. Nach einem kurzen Eingangsreferat, in welchem die Hochkommissarin auf die momentan stattfindende 40. UN-Menschenrechtskonferenz eingegangen ist, wurde anschliessend das Schwergewicht auf das Beantworten der anwesenden NGO-Delegierten gelegt. Dabei wurden hauptsächlich Fragen über die Situation in Afrika besprochen.

 

UNO-Hochkommissariat für Menschenrechte (UNHCHR) Das Hochkommissariat für Menschenrechte (Englisch United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, OHCHR, Französisch Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies aux droits de l’homme) ist die wichtigste Schaltstelle des Menschenrechtsschutzes innerhalb der Vereinten Nationen. Das Amt der Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte wurde als Umsetzung einer Forderung der Wiener Weltkonferenz für Menschenrechte 1993 von der UNO-Generalversammlung eingesetzt. Seit September 2018 hält Michelle Bachelet Jeria aus Chile das Amt der Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte inne.

Die Aufgaben des Hochkommissars

Die Hochkommissarin für Menschenrechte ist Vorgesetzte des UNO-Menschenrechtsbüros in Genf (in welches 1997 das ehemalige Genfer UNO-Menschenrechtszentrum integriert wurde) und koordiniert die Aufgaben der verschiedenen Menschrechtsorgane der UNO. Daneben kann sie auch selbständig tätig werden, um Hindernisse für die Verwirklichung der Menschenrechte zu beseitigen. Zudem kann sie beratende Funktionen für andere Körperschaften ausüben. Sie untersteht direkt dem UNO-Generalsekretär.

Büro des Hochkommissariats für Menschenrechte OHCHR

 

Die Hauptaufgaben des OHCHR Rechtsetzung, Monitoring und Verankerung von Menschenrechtsstandards auf nationaler Ebene. Das OHCHR arbeitet mit allen relevanten Akteuren innerhalb und ausserhalb der UNO zusammen. Es unterstützt insbesondere den UNO-Menschenrechtsrat und dessen Sonderberichterstatter auf operationeller Ebene.

Weitere Infos über UNHCHR/OHCHR

https://www.ohchr.org/EN/HRBodies/HRC/Pages/Home.aspx#tabbedItem4

Teilnehmer CSLI Schweiz:

            – Hauptmann CSLI, Chevalier Frédéric Ch. Währen (Delegationsleiter)

            – Fähnrich CSLI, Dame Christine M. Währen (Assistenz)

Basel, 17.03.2019

Hptm CSLI Chev. Frédéric Ch. Währen

 

1116

1117

1118

1119

Groundpässe Frederic und Christine Währen Bild