The LAZARUS UNION and the LAZARUS ORDER

 

The LAZARUS UNION has roots dating back to 1973 and developed (with a few detours) into today‘s form in 2010.

With currently more than 23.000 members in more than 120 countries on all continents the LAZARUS UNION is at the moment the largest of all “Lazarus-Formations“ worldwide.

The LAZARUS UNION is also with the United Nations as an NGO (Non Governmental Organization) in “Special Consultant and Observer Status” with the United Nations (ECOSOC).

According to its possibilities the LAZARUS UNION is a world-wide operating charity organisation supporting all who are in need of help, friendship, comfort, or care.

The LAZARUS UNION vigorously resists any and all “assimilation“ attempts from certain organizations and their representatives and stresses the full neutrality of the LAZARUS UNION against all groups and formations of the Lazarus Order worldwide.

Extract from the statutes:

“…it is stated here expressively and clearly that the LAZARUS UNION is neither a spiritual nor a secular order and neither claims nor seeks such a status. Maintaining knightly traditions and virtues is claimed and sought for as these are essential parts of the mission and the foundation of the LAZARUS UNION and as such are embedded in the statutes and in the Knighthood of Honour. The LAZARUS UNION is an independent group neither wanting to be taken for any other “Lazarus formation“ nor wanting to imitate on of them…”

On the Legitimacy of the Lazarus Order

The Order of Saint Lazarus is not an Order of Ecclesial Knights recognized by the Holy See as an Order of Knighthood, such as The Military Order of the Knights of Malta or The Knights of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre, but it is a Chivalrous Association with an ecumenical character, great merit and a long tradition.

Since The Order of Saint Lazarus was a religious Military Order, only the Pope has authority over matters of legitimacy.

From 1608 The Order of Saint Lazarus received Papal approval on condition that the women of The Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel were an integral part of the Order. During the French Revolution all Royal Orders were dissolved, including The Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel. The Order of Saint Lazarus henceforth no longer enjoyed Papal protection and was, de jure, thus no longer extant.

Neither Charles X, nor his successors as head of the Royal House, or the Pope have ever tried to have The Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel for women revived. Therefore, the French King ruled that the Order of Saint Lazarus must also cease to exist.

The revolutions of 1830 and 1840, as well as the lack of support from The Vatican, led the leadership of The Order place it under the protection of the Melkite Catholic Patriarch. However, the Melkite Church is subordinate to the Holy See and its Patriarch is not authorized to have an Order of Knights under his protection without permission from the Pope. The same is true for Bishops.

The fact that a Prince officiates as Grandmaster does not give an Order legitimacy. For an Order to be legitimate, it must be either Sovereign (e.g. The Order of Malta), or be under the protection of The Pope, a sitting Head of State (e.g. The French Legion of Honour) or the legitimate head of a Royal dynasty. The Order of Saint Lazarus is neither one nor the other.

According to Canon Law, an Order is valid for 100 years after the death of the last of its members. The last member of the Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel died in 1857. The Order is therefore out of time and can no longer form an integral part of The Order of Saint Lazarus. The Legion of Honour considered the Order of Saint Lazarus and The Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmel as a single entity and, because it has not been possible for this to exist since 1956, de jure The Lazarus Order as an Order of Knighthood in the traditional sense can no longer exist. The Order of Malta and The Knights of the Order of the Holy Sepulchre for their part consider membership in The Order of Saint Lazarus as incompatible with their statutes, and the International Committee for Orders of Knighthood (ICOC) assigns the Order of Saint Lazarus to the list of “self-styled” orders.

The Order of Saint Lazarus lives on de facto as one of the world’s recognized Christian ecumenical organizations directing its charitable and social activities according to the traditions of the extinct Order of Knights. The modern form of the Order was created privately in 1910. Today the “O” in the acronym OSLJ no longer stands for “Order” but, more correctly, for “Organization”.

 

How is the relationship of the LAZARUS UNION to other “Lazarus Groups”?

NGO-Logo 112

The LAZARUS UNION – CSLI is neutral towards all “Lazarus Groups” or “Orders of Saint Lazarus” and is equally close or distant to all of them (depending on your point of view). Any other representation or description, links or other „usurpation” are therefore undesirable, obsolete, inaccurate and counterproductive for our self-declared neutrality.

….and first of all, the following information should not be held back:

The Lazarus Union is neither a “self-styled” order, nor a member of any order, something it clearly and publicly states in its official (by law and approved by the authorities) statutes.

The Lazarus Union is a non-profit association.

The Lazarus Union is fully registered and recognized in the public official register according to Austrian laws.

The Lazarus Union is legally obligated to hold an annual general assembly.

The Lazarus Union must officially publish its management, visible for everybody.

The Lazarus Union is non-political and nondenominational.

The Lazarus Union is required by law to have its finances checked annually by two auditors.

The Lazarus Union is a registered UN-NGO organisation with special consultative Status with ECOSOC.

The Lazarus Union every year publishes the minutes of its general assembly.

The Lazarus Union every year publishes ist audit report and submits it to the UN.

The Lazarus Union does not pay any reimbursement to any member as stated in the statutes.

The Lazarus Union has to prove its legal and financial status to the United Nations.

The Lazarus Union spends less than 2% of the total budget for “administrative” costs for years already.

The Lazarus Union elects its management during the general assembly in democratic way.

The Lazarus Union does not differ between “the president“ and a “common“ member.

The Lazarus Union has the rule that all members have the same rights and duties.

The Lazarus Union does not collect membership or application fees, any donations are voluntary.

The Lazarus Union is an open organisation with no “hidden” issues or secrets.

The following documents any serious organisation should be able to present to all interested parties without any problems at any time, no matter what. At any rate all these documents should fully and unambiguously bear the full name the organisation is using publicly.

If this information is missing: exercise extreme caution!

Here the documents:

Download (PDF, 503KB)

It is obvious to us that not all “Lazarus Groups” and “Lazarus Orders” are happy with the openness and transparency of the Lazarus Union. But in our times, if you consider joining one of the various “Lazarus Orders” or “Lazarus Orders”, check for your own safety and security very carefully all these things before you sign any paper of membership or other commitment. If you refrain from doing so, it may cost you a lot of money for nothing. Some of these organisations do not even have a clear legal status or are no legal personality and can therefore not be prosecuted easily. The Lazarus Union is anxious to make sure that the name “Lazarus is not misused for any form of deceptive business practices

If you have any questions which are not answered on our homepage, do not hesitate to ask us whatever you like to know.

Now have a pleasant stay on our website!

The web team of the Lazarus Union

Die LAZARUS UNION und der LAZARUS ORDEN

Die LAZARUS UNION hat ihre Wurzeln im Jahr 1973 und entwickelte sich daraus (mit einigen Umwegen) im Jahr 2010 zur LAZARUS UNION in ihrer heutigen Form.

Mit derzeit über 20.000 Mitgliedern, in über 90 Ländern und auf allen Kontinenten ist die LAZARUS UNION derzeit die größte aller „Lazarus-Formationen“ weltweit.

Die LAZARUS UNION ist auch eine bei den Vereinten Nationen gelistete NGO (Non Governmental Organization), akkreditiert mit “Sonderberater- und Beobachtersatus”.

Die LAZARUS UNION ist ihren Möglichkeiten entsprechend, eine weltweit tätige karitative Hilfsorganisation für alle die Hilfe, Freundschaft, Trost und Zuwendung brauchen.

Die LAZARUS UNION wehrt sich daher mit allem Nachdruck vor jeglicher „Vereinnahmung“ durch andere Organisationen und deren Vertreter und betont die volle Neutralität der LAZARUS UNION gegenüber allen Gruppierungen des Lazarus Ordens weltweit.

Auszug aus den Statuten:

“… es wird hier ausdrücklich und mit aller Klarheit und Deutlichkeit festgehalten, dass die LAZARUS UNION weder ein „Geistlicher Orden“ noch ein „Weltlicher Orden“ ist. Dass die LAZARUS UNION einen solchen Status weder für sich reklamiert noch anstrebt. Die Pflege von ritterlichen Traditionen und Tugenden sind davon ausgenommen, da diese Dinge wesentliche Bestandteile des Leitbildes und der Grundsätze der LAZARUS UNION sind und in den Statuten und in ihrer „Ehrenritterschaft“ verankert sind. Die LAZARUS UNION ist eine eigenständige Gruppierung, die weder mit anderen „Lazarus Formationen“ verwechselt werden möchte noch diese kopieren will…”

Über die Legitimität des Lazarus Ordens

Der Lazausorden ist kein Ritterorden im kirchlichen Sinn, welcher vom Hl.Stuhl als Ritterorden anerkannt ist, wie z.B. der Malteser-Ritterorden oder der Grabesritter-Orden, wohl aber eine Ritterliche Vereinigung mit ökumenischem Charakter, großen Verdiensten und einer langen Tradition.

Da es sich beim Lazarusorden um einen religiösen Militärorden handelt, ist für Fragen der Legitimität ausschliesslich der Papst zuständig.

Der Lazarusorden hatte ab 1608 die päpstliche Anerkennung nur unter der Bedingung erhalten, dass er eine Einheit mit dem Orden unserer Lieben Frau vom Berg Karmel bildet. Während der Französischen Revolution wurden alle königlichen Orden aufgelöst, so auch der Orden Unserer Lieben Frau vom Berg Karmel. Der Lazarusorden genoss fortan nicht mehr den päpstlichen Schutz und galt de jure somit nicht mehr als existent.

Weder Charles X. noch seine Nachfolger als Oberhaupt des königlichen Hauses, noch der Papst haben je versucht, den Orden unserer Lieben Frau vom Berg Karmel wieder aufleben zu lassen. Deshalb entschied der französische König, dass auch der Lazarusorden zu existieren aufhören müsse.

Die Revolutionen von 1830 und 1840 sowie die fehlende Unterstützung seitens des Vatikans veranlasste die Ordensleitung, sich unter die Administration des melkitisch-katholischen Patriarchen zu begeben. Die Melkitische Kirche ist aber dem Heiligen Stuhl unterstellt, und der Patriarch ist ohne Genehmigung des Papstes nicht authorisiert, einen Ritterorden unter seinen Schutz zu stellen. Dasselbe gilt auch für Bischöfe.

Die Tatsache allein, dass ein Prinz als Grossmeister amtiert, verleiht einem Orden noch keine Legitimität. Damit ein Orden legitim ist, muss er entweder souverän sein (wie der Malteserorden) oder unter dem Schutz des Papstes, eines amtierenden Staatsoberhauptes (Ehrenlegion) oder legitimen Chefs eines Herrscherhauses stehen. Der Lazarusorden ist weder das eine noch das andere.

Nach kanonischem Recht gilt ein Orden 100 Jahre nach dem Tod des letzten seiner Mitglieder als aufgelöst. Das letzte Mitglied des Ordens Unserer Lieben Frau vom Berg Karmel starb 1857. Der Orden ist somit erloschen und kann keine Einheit mehr mit dem Lazarusorden bilden. Auch die Ehrenlegion betrachtet den Lazarusorden als eine Einheit mit dem Orden Unserer lieben Frau vom Berg Karmel, und da dieser seit 1956 de jure nicht mehr existiere, habe auch der Lazarusorden als Ritterorden im traditionellen Sinn keine Existenzberechtigung mehr. Der Malteserorden und die Grabesritter ihrerseits betrachten eine Mitgliedschaft beim Lazarusorden als unvereinbar mit ihren Statuten, und das Internationale Komitee für Ritterorden (I.C.O.C.) ordnet den Lazarusorden unter die „self-styled“ Orden ein.

Der Lazarusorden lebt de facto aber trotzdem weiter als weltweit anerkannte, christlich ökumenische Organisation, die ihre karitative und gesellschaftliche Tätigkeit nach den Traditionen des erloschenen Ritterordens richtet . Die moderne Form wurde um 1910 von privater Seite ins Leben gerufen. Das „O“ in der Abkürzung OSLJ steht heute korrekterweise nicht mehr für „Orden“ sondern für „Organisation”.

Wie steht die LAZARUS UNION zu anderen “Lazarus Gruppierungen”?

Die LAZARUS UNION steht allen „Lazarus Gruppen“ oder„Lazarus Orden“ neutral gegenüber und ist allen gleich nahe oder gleich ferne verbunden. (Wie man es sehen will.) Jede andere Darstellung, Verlinkung oder sonstige „Vereinnahmung“ ist somit unerwünscht, obsolet, unrichtig und kontraproduktiv für unsere selbst gewählte Neutralität…

…und vorweg sollten folgende Informationen nicht vorenthalten werden:

Die LAZARUS UNION ist weder Orden, noch gehört sie einem Orden an und publiziert das auch so öffentlich und deutlich in ihren gesetzlich und behördlich genehmigten Statuten.

Die LAZARUS UNION ist ein nach dem österreichischen Vereinsgesetz eingetragener und behördlich anerkannter gemeinnütziger Verein.

Die LAZARUS UNION ist verpflichtet, jedes Jahr eine Generalversammlung abzuhalten.

Die LAZARUS UNION muss das gesamte Präsidium per Gesetz öffentlich bekanntmachen (Vereinsregister).

Die LAZARUS UNION ist unpolitisch und überkonfessionell.

Die LAZARUS UNION muss gesetzlich ihre Finanzgebarung von zwei Rechnungsprüfern jährlich überprüfen lassen.

Die LAZARUS UNION ist eine anerkannte UN-NGO mit „Sonderberaterstatus“ bei den Vereinten Nationen-ECOSOC.

Die LAZARUS UNION veröffentlicht jährlich das Protokoll der Generalversammlung.

Die LAZARUS UNION veröffentlicht und übermittelt den jährlichen Prüfbericht an die Vereinten Nationen.

Die LAZARUS UNION bezahlt keinerlei Spesen und Vergütungen an ihre Funktionäre und Mitglieder.

Die LAZARUS UNION hat ihren legalen Status und ihre Finanzgebarung den Vereinten Nationen nachzuweisen.

Die LAZARUS UNION gibt seit Jahren weniger als 2% des Gesamtbudgets für administrative Kosten aus.

Die LAZARUS UNION wählt alle ihre Funktionäre in der Generalversammlung auf demokratischem Weg.

Die LAZARUS UNION macht keinen Unterschied zwischen „Präsident“ und „einfachem Mitglied“. ALLE verwenden das kameradschaftliche “Du”.

Die LAZARUS UNION hat die Regel, dass alle Mitglieder die gleichen Rechte und Pflichten haben.

Die LAZARUS UNION kassiert weder Einschreibgebühren noch Mitgliedsbeiträge und akzeptiert Spenden nur auf freiwilliger Basis.

Die LAZARUS UNION ist eine „offene“ Organisation mit keinen „versteckten“ Dingen oder Geheimnissen.

Die folgenden Dokumente sollte jede SERIÖSE Organisation jederzeit und ohne „wenn und aber“ allen interessierten Personen OHNE Probleme und SOFORT aushändigen können! In jedem Fall sollte auf allen diesen Dokumenten auch der Name komplett und unmissverständlich aufscheinen, unter dem die betreffende Organisation auch öffentlich auftritt.

Wenn NICHT: Dann größte VORSICHT!

Hier die Dokumente:

Download (PDF, 899KB)

Es ist uns klar und auch verständlich, dass nicht alle „Lazarus Gruppen“ und „Lazarus Orden“ mit der praktizierten Offenheit und Transparenz der Lazarus Union „glücklich“ sind. Aber in Zeiten wie diesen, ist man, zum eigenen Schutz und zur eigenen Sicherheit, gut beraten, all diese Dinge sehr sorgfältig zu überprüfen, bevor man einen Mitgliedsantrag oder sonstige Verpflichtungen unterschreibt. Wenn man das nämlich nicht tut, kann es leicht vorkommen, dass viel Geld für Nichts (und wertlose „Ritterwürden“) ausgegeben wird. Manche Organisationen haben nicht einmal einen gesicherten und nachprüfbaren Rechtsstatus oder eine Rechtspersönlichkeit und können daher auch nur schwer gesetzlich verfolgt werden. Die Lazarus Union ist bemüht dafür zu sorgen, dass der Name „Lazarus“nicht für „unsaubere“ Machenschaften missbraucht wird.

Wenn Fragen auftreten die auf unserer Homepage nicht beantwortet werden, bitte nicht zu zögern uns zu fragen!

Wir wünschen viel Vergnügen mit unserer Homepage!

Das Webteam der Lazarus Union