Visit at Pula

MK-EFM Logo gestickt 200

Visit at Pula

W.Leitner 100  A report by Wolfgang Leithner

 

From 22nd May until 24th May comrade Wolfgang Leithner, secretary of the Naval Comradeship Vice Admiral Archduke Ferdinand Max and two comrades of the Veteran’s Association, district Horn, visited Pula (Pola). From 1814 until 1918 Pula belonged to the Austro-Hungarian Danube Monarchy.

2 Pula 5 (2)

1a pula-panorama[1]

1b Pula Blick vom Marinemuseum

At the instigation of our name patron, the Naval Comradeship Vice Admiral Archduke Ferdinand Max (better known as Maximilian I. of Mexico and brother of the Emperor Franz Josef I.) Pula was expanded to be a fortress and a main naval port. Most of the historic buildings were erected during this time. Among them the Military Hospital, the St. Mary’s Church, the Martin’s barracks, the mechanical school, the Infantry and Artillery barracks as well as many mansions and houses for officers and officials.

3 Pula Befestigundsanlagen 1 (2)

4 Pula Befestigunsanlage 2 (2)

5 Pula k.u.k. Stabsgebäude

On the historic buildings there is unfortunately no information that commemorate these times.

11 Pula 22

12 Pula 21

Like Rome Pula was built on seven hills. In 1848 Pula had 1.100 citizens, in 1910 70.000 people already lived there – at least one quarter of them were military servants. Currently 57.000 people live in Pula.

7 Marinefriedhof (4)

8 Pula 12 (2)

9 Pula Marinefriedhof 9

Initially the Naval courtyard has an area of 4.000 m2 . It is estimated that 80.000 dead were buried on the 22.000 m2 large terrain. Among them 12 Austrian and Hungarian Admirals and many deceased relatives of the officials. Furthermore 316 fallen soldiers of the “Deutsche Wehrmacht” (German armed forces) were buried here.

10 Pula 17 (2)

During the Second World War Pula was also military and submarine base of the German navy.

13 Pula_Aerial_View[1]

Wolfgang Leithner

Fahne neu MK-EFM 620

Besuch von Pula

MK-EFM Logo gestickt 200

Besuch von Pula

W.Leitner 100  Ein Bericht von Wolfgang Leithner

Vom 22. Mai bis 24. Mai besuchte Kamerad Wolfgang Leithner, Schriftführer der MK-EFM, mit zwei Kameraden vom ÖKB StV. Horn die Stadt Pula (Pola). Pula war von 1814 bis 1918 in Besitz der österreichischen-ungarischen Donaumonarchie.

2 Pula 5 (2)

1a pula-panorama[1]

1b Pula Blick vom Marinemuseum

Auf Betreiben unseres Namenspatrons, der Marinekameradschaft Vizeadmiral Erzherzog Ferdinand Max (besser bekannt als Maximilian I. von Mexiko und Bruder von Kaiser Franz Josef I.), wurde Pula zur Festung und zum Hauptkriegshafen ausgebaut und die meisten historischen Bauten in dieser Zeit errichtet. Das Marinespital, die Marienkirche, die Martinskaserne, die Maschinenschule, die Infanterie- u. Artilleriekaserne und viele Villen und Häuser für Offiziere und Beamte, nur um einige zu nennen.

3 Pula Befestigundsanlagen 1 (2)

4 Pula Befestigunsanlage 2 (2)

5 Pula k.u.k. Stabsgebäude

Leider findet man in und auf diesen historischen Gebäuden keine Hinweis mehr, welche an diese Zeit erinnern.

11 Pula 22

12 Pula 21

Pula wurde, so wie Rom, auch auf sieben Hügel erbaut. 1848 zählte Pula 1100 Einwohner 1910 waren es bereits 70.000 Einwohner ein ¼ davon Militär, derzeit sind es 57.000 Einwohner.

7 Marinefriedhof (4)

8 Pula 12 (2)

9 Pula Marinefriedhof 9

Der Marinefriedhof hatte ursprünglich eine Ausdehnung von 4.000 m². Auf dem derzeitigen 22.000 m² großen Gelände fanden 80.000 Tote (so schätzt man) ihren letzten Ruheplatz. Unter ihnen 12 österreichisch und ungarische Admiräle und auch viele verstorbene Familienmitglieder der Beamten. Auch wurden 316 gefallene Soldaten der deutschen Wehrmacht am Marinefriedhof von Pula bestattet.

10 Pula 17 (2)

Im zweiten Weltkrieg war Pula auch Marine- und U-Boot Stützpunkt der deutschen Kriegsmarine.

13 Pula_Aerial_View[1]

Wolfgang Leithner

Fahne neu MK-EFM 620